When a bad thing is actually a good thing

When I was rear ended a couple of weeks ago and the girl who hit me lied about her information I was really upset. Extremely frustrated with myself for failing to get the proper information I knew to get, but furious at her for intentionally lying. It was worse than hit and run, for this was a calculated decision. And I wasn’t just mad, it made me depressed to realize people behave that way.
Her little compact car clearly suffered the brunt of the damage, the hood was buckled upwards and the radiator bent into a V. My truck seemed to be ok, having a spare tire rack on the back which seemed to have caused most of the damage to her car.
So, without noting the plate number or asking to see her license or insurance information I left with basically just a name and phone number written on a piece of paper, but I also only gave her my business card, and figured the whole thing wasn’t a big deal.
The minute I got home and my boyfriend checked out the truck we discovered the damage was worse than I thought. The tire rack had pushed into the tailgate and now the back of the truck couldn’t be opened.
That’s when I found out ‘Claudia’ had given me false information. First was shock that someone would even think do that, followed by anger that she KNEW exactly what she did and was getting away with it. Anger lingered and I started reaching out on Facebook to see if I might be lucky enough to know someone who knows someone who had recently had their little silver compact car get a smashed up front end. Struggling to keep my anger in check when I wrote my postings, it fanned the flames when my friends expressed anger too. People reposted my plea for help, responded with advice, questions, similar stories, sympathy, empathy and reminders about karma.
One friend went into extreme Private Investigator mode and started searching the internet, making phone calls and tracking down every possible ‘lead’ to locate this person!
My boyfriend contacted the police dept. in the city where the accident happened to inquire if there were cameras at that intersection and find out what else we could do besides filing the incident report I filed.
The rush of angry motivation to hunt her down began to fade into a sense of defeat. It wasn’t getting hit that bothered me, accidents happen. She made an honest mistake but chose to deal with it in such a dishonest way that it really depressed me. I can’t wrap my mind around how one can treat another person that way.
I went into denial and spent about a week trying not to let myself think about it at all. I was pretty busy that week so it was easy to pretend I had let it go. But really I was avoiding getting my truck fixed or talking about it anymore because it made me sad to even think about it.
Yesterday my boyfriend, Ralph, broke through my defenses by making it his mission for the day to work on getting the tailgate of the truck working again. When I first I got this truck second hand it had the same issue on a much smaller scaled so I had already fixed it once with the help of our next door neighbor. As Ralph and I disassembled panels to gain access to the interior of the tailgate mechanisms and pound out dents, once again our neighbor offered to help. Ralph had already managed to push the main largest dent but things were still badly out of whack.
With a lot of team work, ingenuity, shared tools, shared experiences and 3 stubbornly determined people working on it, we practically re molded that tailgate back into shape as good as when it was new. It is certainly better now than when I got it!
My depression, anger and sadness about the actions of ‘Claudia’ are gone. The behavior of one bad person has been so outnumbered by good people in my life who are kind and thoughtful and helpful I can’t give any power to the negative feelings about what she did.
Now I find I am grateful this incident brought into focus how fortunate I am to be surrounded by caring people who are ethical, generous, and sincere. I am very blessed to have so many quality human beings in my life who consider me a friend and that I may call friend in return.
Thanks to all who offered advice, help and reposted my requests for help on Facebook. You lifted my spirits.
Thank you, Sue for turning into P.I.!! You are amazing!!
Thanks to Ralph for letting me sulk just long enough to move on and then being so helpful and determined to fix it! ❤
And thanks to our next door neighbor Larry (again)! It’s great having someone who loves to work on cars live next door, and even better that he’s a nice guy willing to share his time, tools and knowledge!
Silly little accident. No one hurt, just some damage to some cars.
This bad thing was really a good thing wanting to be noticed. I will do my best to keep my awareness of my good fortune fresh in my heart at all times and walk in gratitude each day.
Thanks for the gift ‘Claudia’. I wish you peace.

Categories: Checklist, random | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “When a bad thing is actually a good thing

  1. Eve Breckenridge

    great well told story

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

